Surprise!

I just opened a new test! Come join us over at Free Pattern Testers!

The weekend proved extraordinarily productive, and the end result, dear reader, was the Miller Maiden’s Scarf. It all came as a bit of a surprise, as I had anticipated testing Salish Sea and Laie Point first, but who am I to argue with an actual finished pattern?

IMG_2364

Yes, that’s the freshly spun “Snow Falling on Cedars” yarn that you see there, but in the end I was inspired by Ian Bostridge singing “Mit dem grünen Lautenband” from Schubert’s Die Schöne Müllerin. Of course, I have no idea what lute-ribbon looks like and despite my once-decent German I harbour only a vague notion of the meaning of the song’s lyrics, but hey, it’s something to do with green and it’s my favourite from the whole cycle. In case you’re not a fan of Ian and his tenor “head voice” I’m linking Dieter Fischer-Dieskau’s version for you too.

This entry was posted in handspun, shawls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

