Why?

Sometimes I wonder WHY. Namely, why did I make that particular design choice when in hindsight it would obviously never cause me anything but regret? The answer to that question, dear reader, comes from Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Slaughterhouse Five:

“That is a very Earthling question to ask. Why you? Why us for that matter? Why anything? Because this moment simply is. Have you ever seen bugs trapped in amber? … Well, here we are, trapped in the amber of this moment. There is no why.”

IMG_2220 Nevertheless! Behold the Maple Leaf and Moose Antler Mittens in PT2, a woolen-spun yarn similar to Rauma Finullgarn. They feature adaptations of Estonian patterns – the maple leaf on the cuff and elk horn on the mitten body. As usual, this latest project is my new favourite, although that’s likely due to my amazement that the pattern as drafted on paper actually worked out with only a few minor tweaks in the colour scheme.

Anyway, even though these mittens took less than a week to knit, I felt as if I were caught in a Baltic time warp where minutes were reckoned as hours. Hence the “why” – an array of mittens in fingering weight yarn seemed like such a good idea at the yarn store that, with my Christmas gift card, I bought 7 balls of the stuff for an assortment of other mittens too despite the fact that I approach stranded colourwork with great reluctance. (I am no master of tension and the lack of evenness bothers me more than it probably ought to.)

As a celebration of both the New Year and the fact that this blog is still up and running as its second birthday approaches, the pattern is free until 5 January. Find it here on Ravelry!

Let’s end with Vonnegut too – a quotation from Cat’s Cradle:

“Tiger got to hunt, bird got to fly;
Man got to sit and wonder ‘why, why, why?’
Tiger got to sleep, bird got to land;
Man got to tell himself he understand.”

This entry was posted in mittens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

