O ye of little faith!

I dedicate this post (and this project) to all the knitters and crocheters and yarn addicts and fibre hoarders out there who despair of ever diminishing their stashes. Be not afraid — for though my stash had not taken on truly epic proportions, it was certainly a source of exponentially growing anxiety and I stand before you today as one who has, in her small way, conquered at least one demon that lived among the half-skeins, test skeins, and other random leftovers.

Between investigating Oslo yarn shops and writing patterns for test knitting, I’ve spent the last month crocheting granny squares. The stash of lace & fingering weight remnants has all but disappeared: 460 grams of it (minus most of the sock yarn, which will turn into its own blanket). I then trimmed the squares with Rauma Baby Panda in cream (14 skeins, newly purchased, which kind of defeats the purpose of stashbusting, but I used birthday money so it’s all sort of good, right?).

So, ye of little faith, let me reassure you that it can be done!!! Well, not quite done, perhaps, as both blankets still need an edging, but I must admit to a palpable sense of accomplishment at having come this far.

Note: all pictures in this post (and this blog, for that matter) are for illustrative purposes only and should not necessarily be considered as representative of author’s ideal compositional aesthetic. However, they may be taken as true representations of the author’s skills with a camera.

IMG_4141

For reasons known only to my inaccessible inner consciousness, I decided to SEW the 165 squares for Knoll’s blanket using some kind of overhand stitch. Luckily, by the time I got to Tott’s, sanity had me in its grips, and I crocheted the seams. Let me assure you, dear reader, that the crochet method takes a great deal less time and looks no worse. In fact, I’d even venture to say that it looks better despite the fact that I haven’t actually finished seaming it yet.

IMG_4154

I don’t understand why I saved yarn lengths so small that they yielded only one square, like this handspun Shetland from Call of the Wool that reminded me all over again why I fell in love with Shetland…

IMG_4144

…or this angora/silk blend from Picperfic, which became a super-soft and super-lonely luxurious square in a sea of sock yarn…

IMG_4147

…then there was the horror of seeing yarn from which I had originally knitted stripey socks about 10 or 11 years ago…

IMG_4143

…but of course revisiting many old projects gave me the warm fuzzies. Here are the last of Salish Sea, The Long Long Winter Night, Soria, Niagara Socks, Pentecost, and The Miller Maiden’s Scarf.

This entry was posted in all & sundry leftovers, children's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

