‘I will make you brooches’

With profuse apologies to Robert Louis Stevenson.

I will knit you sweaters and socks for your delight
With Malabrigo in the morning and Kureyon at night.
I will make an afghan fit for you and me
Of Manos and Wollmeise and leftover Kauni.

I will knit my mittens, and you shall have a toque
with bobbles and Viking cables and a scarf to match it, too.
And you shall scour the roving so that it’s clean and white
as fresh snow in the morning or moonbeams at night.

And this shall be for spinning when no one else is near,
The rolags from my secret stash, of baby camel and cashmere!
That only I will knit, that only you will wear
With peeries, waves and peaks from the Isle Fair.

This entry was posted in randomly adrift in time and space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

