China

Yesterday I discovered AliExpress. If you’re not familiar with it, then the best description that I can muster would be Chinese Amazon crossed with Etsy — in the sense that it provides a platform for individual stores to sell, dream, and scheme.

The shop names charmed and baffled me: Happy DIY Store and Horticulture Family Store made sense but FishMan Store sounded somewhat alarming. Clearly, the Valuefashionshop had decided to make their agenda clear. And the admittedly oddly named Two Per Thousand Store and finding Store had nothing on Shop1669336 Store.

Yarn can certainly be found there, but I managed to keep my hands away from the ‘buy’ button. Instead some dresses and petticoats made it into my cart (there’s a wedding in the family in August! more on the knittery aspects thereof in a later post!) as well as some novelty socks for Dad. Shops offer all kinds of coupons/discounts, although I’m wondering at the wisdom of buying $50 of socks or $300 of dresses (given that $2 buys a pair of socks and $20 a dress) in order to claim a $3 rebate.

With $500 dollars you could reconfigure your home. You could dump your existing wardrobe and transform your style overnight. If you want to be a Goth or rockabilly girl or wear an animal adult onesie then AliExpress will be more than happy to help you fulfil your dream. I don’t like to think of myself as overly materialistic or consumerist, but clearly AliExpress has not appealed to the better angels of my nature.

Speaking of conspicuous consumerism, here’s my latest yarn from my new favourite dyer Lamington Lass! I would have started knitting already but for the UFOs lingering on my 3.5 mm needles. Waaah!

This entry was posted in lace, randomly adrift in time and space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

